City Secretary's Office

The current City Secretary is Mayra Gonzales. Ms. Gonzales was appointed to the position in 2012.

Duties & Responsibilities

The City Secretary is responsible for the following:

  1. Conducting the city elections.
  2. Keeping the minutes of City Council minutes.
  3. Maintaining all ordinances and resolutions.
  4. Providing notice of City Council meetings.

Ms. Gonzales is also responsible for other duties required by the City Council or/and the laws of the State of Texas.

Election Information

Pursuant to Secretary of State Election Advisory Opinion No. 2020-12, the Texas Governor’s Executive Order GA-14, and City of Galena Park Resolution No. RO9-2020, municipal elections for the positions of Mayor and the City Commissioners has been postponed until November 3, 2020 due to the outbreak of COVID-19.

Election Day - May 2, 2020

Filing Dates for Application for Place on the Ballot - January 15, 2020 thru February 14, 2020 by 5:00 p.m.

Election Day Polling Locations:

Precinct 208, 81 857, & 860:    Alvin Baggett Community Building

                                                 1302 Keene Street

                                                 Galena Park, TX 77547

Early Voting Polling Location:   Alvin Baggett Community Building

                                                1302 Keene St.

                                                Galena Park, TX 77547